Home > Philly Music > Philly Jams >

Philly Joe Jones Showcase CD
Philly Joe Jones Showcase CD from www.retrophilly.com

Availability:: Currently Unavailable
Product Code: RPMJ17


As a child, Jones appeared as "a featured tap dancer on The Kiddie Show on the Philadelphia radio Station WIP." In 1947 he became the house drummer at Cafe Society in New York City, where he played with the leading bebop players of the day. Jones toured and recorded with the Miles Davis Quintet from 1955 to 1958 and then became a leader of his own band. This collection, recorded in 1959 with Blue Mitchell, Julian Priester, Bill Barron, Pepper Adams, Dolo Coker, Sonny Clark and Jimmy Garrison features:

  1. "Battery Blues" - 4:06
  2. "Minor Mode" - 4:26
  3. "Gwen" - 3:57
  4. "Joe's Debut" - 5:35
  5. "Gone" - 4:42
  6. "Joe's Delight" - 3:50
  7. "Julia" - 3:26
  8. "I'll Never Be The Same" - 3:58
  9. "Interpretation" - 4:02

    Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

    Philly Music > Philly Jams
    Philly Music